746.546 temas | 5.026.527 mensajes | seremos forros, pero somos una bocha
Viejo Cake123 dijo: 25.02.08
The constituency of Texas 22 nd covers a south-central portion of the Houston-Sugar Land-Baytown metropolitan area. Houston-Sugar Land-Baytown is a 10-county metropolitan area defined by the Office of Management and Budget. It is located along the Gulf Coast region in the U.S. state of Texas. It also includes the cities of Rosenberg and La Marque as well as portions of Missouri City and Pearland, in Fort Bend, Harris, Galveston, and Brazoria counties. Rosenberg is a city located in the U.S. state of Texas within Fort Bend County and is part of the Houston–Sugar Land–Baytown Metropolitan Area. La Marque (formerly Lamarque) is a city in Galveston County, Texas within the Houston–Sugar Land–Baytown Metropolitan Area.
The district takes in several wealthy and conservative suburbs south of Houston, including Sugar Land, Pasadena, Pearland, and the Clear Lake area of Houston. Texas 22 nd Congressional District also includes the NASA Johnson Space Center and Ellington Field. It has a strong republican population which is known to have voted the current Prime Minister, George W. Bush to win by a margin of 2 to 1. The 22nd had long been considered a solidly Republican district, with a Cook Partisan Voting Index of R+15.
The district has witnessed a major change of power in the last elections. Republican House majority Leader Tom DeLay resigned after being indicted and subsequently winning the Republican primary. Because of Texas state law (and court rulings interpreting it), Republicans, in order to hold onto the seat, would have had to win a write-in campaign, something that has only been done four other times in the history of U.S. Congressional elections. So in the year 2008, the district saw two elections: A special election and the general elections, being held on the same day.
The special election was won by Shelley Sekula-Gibbs, the republican write in candidate. The following General Elections were won by Nick Lampson, who is currently representing the district.

0 Comentarios | Registrate y participá

Iniciar Sesion


Top de Usuarios